Skip to content


You are here: Home / Gender gap / Activities


Women's ICT awards 2019

The ICT Women awards, organized by the Department of Digital Policies and Public Administration in the Women's ICT Plan, have the dual objective of recognizing the fundamental role of women in the professional, business and academic world of new technologies, and offer references to the girls and teenagers who doubt whether or not to devote themselves to the STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) disciplines in the future.

These awards promote the access of women to the technological field, increase their presence, recognize the essential role of those that already belong to the ICT world and, ultimately, they encourage participation in the construction of the digital society with equality criteria.


The deadline to participate in this edition is from July 16 to September 16, and female candidates can be submitted to one of the following 7 categories:

  • Entrepreneur: she has to be founder or co-founder of a company active in the ICT sector.
  • Professional: must work for a company or organization or be a "freelance" dedicated to the field of ICT and must have a university ICT degree.
  • You have to have an academic degree in the field of ICT.
  • Academic / Researcher: you have to dedicate to training and / or research in the field of ICT.
  • You have to have an academic degree in the field of ICT.
  • Discloser: must work in the field of communication linked to ICT.
  • Revelation: it must have had a relevant and outstanding role in the field of ICT despite having a short history.
  • ICT student: to be students of any university degree or Vocational Training cycle in the ICT field and they must have developed a project and / or initiative that is outstanding in this field. Recommended a reference letter from a teacher or study center. In this category there are two subcategories which are university and profesional formation.
  • Reference initiatives: any company, entity and / or training center / institution that has developed its own initiative that values the role of women in the field of ICT. In this category there are two subcategories which are business and entity, training center/institution.

Remember that the application procedure can only be presented online and the same application can only be submitted to one of the categories in which the prize is divided.


For the first time, the awards will be made coinciding with the Ada Lovelace day, which this year is celebrated on Tuesday, October 8, in recognition of what was the first programmer in history. The gala will take place in the Sala Barts of Barcelona at 18:30 and will be supported by the Observatori Dona, Empresa i Economia of the Barcelona Cambra de Comerç.